Return to Whetstone Valley Young Goose
Sort By::
Page of 16
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Goose April 30, 2019
Reviewer: Richard Newell from TRACY, CA United States  
Arrived on time in good condition.
Tasted as expected.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Goose April 23, 2019
Reviewer: Stephen Aschliman from Nashville , TN United States  
Arrived almost thawed. No insulation on the top.  
A very tasty bird!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Whetstone Valley Goose April 8, 2019
Reviewer: James Whalen from Plymouth, MA United States  
5 Stars!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Goose January 7, 2019
Reviewer: Mark Lewis from Susanville, CA United States  
It was excellent quality thank you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Unexpectedly delicious January 7, 2019
Reviewer: Eugene Pivovarov from FOSTER CITY, CA United States  
We roasted a chicken, a turkey or a duck lots of times, but I was wondering how a roasted goose would taste. I did not expect much and doubted it would worth the money. We invited two couples for a dinner, not having told them about the main course. The goose arrived frozen and took over 24 hours to thaw in the refrigerator. We used a recipe for a roasted goose with crispy skin from Food & Wine magazine, which took two days, although these was not much work. The goose had a phenomenal success! It was funny that our guests could not identify the bird that tasted so delicious. The meat was more tender and juicy than that of a turkey, but it was lighter and more delicate than that of a duck. We will certainly do it again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
12-14 pound goose January 1, 2019
Reviewer: Cissa from Central MA  
This was another wonderful goose from Schlitz!

For a goose- which is a bony and fatty bird- this one was very meaty indeed! 4 of us had all the goose meat we could eat- plus the wonderful skin!- and there was plenty left over for at least 3 more goose-heavy dinners, plus the delicious goose soup we always make from the carcass.

Plus, of course, around a quart of excellent fat that makes the BEST potatoes!

We've experimented with a number of goose-cooking approaches over the years, and I strongly recommend the combination of braising and roasting that Michael Ruhlman describes. Not only does it render the fat for super-crisp skin, but the rendered fat is gorgeous, and not browned at all- plus it gives us extra goose broth for extra gravy, AND does not spit fat all over the oven- a multiple win!

After the braise, we stuff the bird with a fruit-nut stuffing before roasting.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Quality everytime January 1, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Burlington, WI United States  
This is the 2nd year we've purchased our goose through Schiltz and like last year it was easy to order, the price was good, and having just roasted the goose, DELICIOUS!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Loved the goose! December 31, 2018
Reviewer: Connor Valentine from Sammamish , WA United States  
First Christmas goose but will now be an annual tradition!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Quality December 31, 2018
Reviewer: Carol from Clovis, NM United States  
This is the second year getting a Christmas Goose from Schlitz.  Goose arrived well packaged on the delivery date selected.  Excellent quality and taste.  Will order from them again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fresh Goose December 27, 2018
Reviewer: Catharine Simolari from San Diego, CA United States  
Clean bird with great shipping

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items